Recently, the International Energy Agency (IEA) launched the Clean Energy Transitions Programme annual report 2023.

    • The first of these focuses on supporting emerging and developing countries to establish clean energy transition goals, in line with the objectives of the 2015 Paris Agreement and the Sustainable Development Goals established by the United Nations.

    About Clean Energy Transitions Programme

    1. The IEA's flagship initiative, launched in 2017, is designed to accelerate progress towards a global net-zero energy system.
    2. It builds on the insights of the world's leading energy authority to catalyze the clean energy transition with a focus on emerging and developing economies.
    3. The goals of the initiative are in line with the 2015 Paris Agreement and the Sustainable Development Goals established by the United Nations.

    Key facts about IEA:

    1. The International Energy Agency (IEA) is an autonomous intergovernmental organization within the framework of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
    2. Established in 1974, the IEA's mission is to ensure a secure and sustainable energy future for all, working with governments and industry to address global energy challenges.
    3. The IEA's creation was a response to the 1973-1974 oil crisis, when an oil embargo by major producers led to historically high prices and exposed the vulnerability of industrialized countries to oil import dependency.
    4. The IEA currently comprises 31 member countries and 11 association countries.
    5. To be a candidate for IEA membership, a country must be a member of the OECD.


    Q1) What is the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)?

    1. The OECD is an international organization that helps governments, policy makers, and citizens develop evidence-based standards for economic growth, poverty reduction, and environmental protection.
    2. The OECD was established in 1961.
    3. The OECD has 38 member countries from Europe, North America, Latin America, and the Pacific Rim.
    4. OECD member countries account for 63% of the world's GDP.
    5. OECD member countries account for 95% of its official development assistance.
    6. OECD member countries account for three-quarters of its trade.
    7. The OECD's goal is to create policies that promote prosperity, equality, opportunity, and well-being for all.
    8. The OECD works with committees made up of representatives from member countries to discuss topics such as trade, education, investment, and the environment.

    The OECD's objectives include:

    1. Promoting economic development and cooperation
    2. Fighting poverty by promoting economic stability
    3. Ensuring that the environmental impact of development and social development is always considered

    Must Check: Best IAS Coaching In Delhi