About IAS Exam

About IAS Exam


A summary of the IAS eligibility requirements, including the UPSC maximum age restriction, the number of attempts, relaxations, and more, is provided below. To be eligible to sit for the UPSC IAS Exam, candidates must fulfill the following requirements:

Nationality requirements for the IAS exam include being an Indian citizen, someone of Indian ancestry, or a subject of Nepal, Bhutan, or Tibet who had been resident in India before January 1, 1962.

Candidates for the IAS exam must possess a graduate degree from an accredited university.
The minimum age requirement for the UPSC Civil Services Exam is 21 years old, and the maximum age is 32 years old. Category wise UPSC CSE age limit, relaxation and maximum attempts-

1. General Category & EWS: 32 years; 6 attempts.

2. OBC (with certificate): 32 years + 3 years; 9 attempts.

3. SC/ST: 32 years + 5 years; unlimited attempts.

4. Physically Disabled: 32 years + 10 years; Gen/OBC/Person with Benchmark Disability (EWS category)- 9 attempts & SC/ST unlimited attempts.

5. Jammu & Kashmir Domicile: 32 years + 5 years + (3 years, if OBC OR 5 Years, if SC/ST); the Number of attempts depends on the reserved category.

6. Disabled and discharged Defence service personnel: 32 years + 3 years + (3 years, if Gen/OBC OR 5 years, if SC/ST)

7. Ex-Servicemen Commission Officer: 32 years + 5 years + (3 years, if OBC OR 5 Years, if SC/ST)